Scribbling Exquisite Corpses?

This weekend we had an Exquisite Corpse assignment.  At first, I had never heard of the game, but once it was explained I realized that I had never played it, but I had seen books where you can flip through and creat your own ‘monster’.  What the game is, is you fold a paper in thirds, Draw a head in the top third so that the neck comes down to the fold.  The paper gets passed to the second person, who can only see the middle fold, and the little tick marks at the top from where the neck was left off.  They then have to create their own body to add to this head that they do not know what it looks like.  This process is repeated.  Paper gets passed to the third person who only sees the bottom tick marks where the body was left off, and they have to draw legs for this ‘monster’.  My images looked like…

image

Then, in class today, we worked on more abstraction and imagination.  We closed our eyes and scribbled on a piece of paper while our partners turned and moved that paper.  We then had to find things in those scribbles.  I have to say, I did something similar to this in high school and hated it.  I can’t say my feelings changed much for it, but I did find it interesting to be scribbling with our eyes closed and our partner moving the paper.  This was the result of my scribbling and searching…

image

It is called Pareidolia, that’s where you see faces in things that don’t actually have faces; like cars, and buildings.  I would much rather be cloud gazing on a warm summer day, or playing ISpy in those books personally.  This is all in preparation for the next project!

Leave a comment